Accounting & Math Major

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Accounting & Math Major

I am currently a freshman in college, and I was considering double-majoring in Math and Accounting and minoring in Spanish. Will these majors/minors open up many actuarial jobs to me?

Originally posted by Cristi
    I am currently a freshman in college, and I was considering double-majoring in Math and Accounting and minoring in Spanish. Will these majors/minors open up many actuarial jobs to me?
    I'm guessing your college doesn't have actuarial science as an option. In any case, having a math major helps. Essentially, you can major in anything in college, as long as you're able to pass the actuarial exams. Most people major in something math-related because it helps to study subjects in formal classes (for the majority of people) than on their own. Accounting/math is a pretty good combination, though.

Since you're only a freshman, you probably haven't had too much calculus yet. Take the calculus sequence at your school, then take a calculus-based probability class (continuous probability). After that, you're on your way to being prepared to take the first actuarial exam.

Comment

Two majors and a minor?

I would say that having two majors and a minor is too much if you want to be an actuary. Passing exams must, absolutely must, be the priority.

Yours,
      Krzys'
      Want to know how to pass actuarial exams? Go to: smartURL.it/pass

Comment

Originally posted by devina
        I am a US citizen. I want to study India because I can’t afford my study expenses over US. If I have to study overseas like in India is it possible to get financial aid from US government over there? What is the other way for me to get their support? How can I continue my study over there? I have no idea about it. I really need you suggestion. Any helpful suggestion will be appreciated. Have a good day.