Need help with deciding major and school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with deciding major and school

Hi, I am currently attending a community college. For now, my major is Bussiness-finance but it may change depending on the replies that I get.... So please respond with care!!!

Right now I am very confused because there is no one that can help me. I don't know any actuaries and only heard things against about being an actuary. But I have strong confidence that this is what I want to do through the rest of my life.

My questions are, what do you think is the best major that can a student pursue to become an actuary? Do you know any good universities that provide those programs? (perhaps, in Illinois)

And one last question, I am currently studying for the exam FM for this coming November. (I coudn't take exam P because of the deadline) Do you think I will be able to get an intership while I am still in a community college?

Thank you so much for your time!! I love you alll!!

Advice for becoming an actuary

The largest program in Illinois is at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign, where the program director is Rick Gorvett. The second largest is at Illinois State University, which is located in Normal (effectively that part of Bloomington, where the university is located) -- I am the program director at Illinois State, and you can easily contact me through this forum, or send an e-mail to: [email protected]. There are also smaller programs at DePaul and Roosevelt in Chicago. If I am missing some place, I apologize, please correct me. You can find complete listing of university actuarial programs at www.beanactuary.org.