Engineer to Actuary...smart choice???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engineer to Actuary...smart choice???

I might just be living proof of the frustration inherent in the engineering profession today. I've been a practicing engineer for 10 years now, and I'm seriously considering becoming an actuary. Over the past decade or two, the top executive positions in engineering firms in corporate America have been preferentially filled with folks groomed from the business department, in lieu of folks from traditional engineering roles. Moreover, most engineering companies list 2 career tracks for engineers...management and technical, but few companies really support highly paid engineering fellow positions. For those companies that do, they are nowhere near the compensation and prestige as the exec positions...like CFO, CEO, COO etc. And the management track seems limited to the workhorse positions in middle management, where the workload and hours far exceed the moderate increase in compensation. Engineers that are fortunate enough to break through the glass ceiling, more often than not do so because of 'being at the right place at the right time', or because they know someone that carries them along. An old adage I heard in in engineering school was, engineering students that get A's go to grad school, get PhDs and teach. Engineers that get B's work in industry and are managed by those that get C's...and how true it is. I worked for numerous Fortune 100/500 companies where, more often than not, managers were technically inept.

I am seriously considering becoming an actuary. The engineering profession does not present the opportunities and technical challenges I need to stay engaged. I am a well-respected senior research engineer at a very successful Fortune 40 Company. My background is heavily concentrated in computer based test, measurement and automation, with a work history in a variety of industries.