Can't get an internship or job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't get an internship or job

Hi everyone, I'm in a bad situation that maybe someone can help me with.

College for me was hard. Real hard. I'm not sure why, maybe I didn't have good study skills, or my heart was somewhere else, I'm not sure. Studying and passing the soa exams DURING college was almost impossible for me. I've tried to study and take the exams and have already failed twice.

Now I'm a senior about to graduate this May. I feel like I had to focus so much of my energy on simply not failing my classes and keeping everything together that I probably will not have an exam passed before I graduate. Everyone always says that you need to pass 2 exams before you graduate... Well this simply is not a possibility anymore.

I can't get an entry-level job of course, because I don't have the exams passed. But also, I can't get hired as an intern anywhere because I will already be graduated (all of my denials have specifically stated this). I'm lost about what steps I should take next.

Should I keep hoping that I can be hired as an intern by the time I graduate, without any exams passed? Or should I find SOME kind of employment that's not actuarial-related and stick with it for a year or 2 while I study for the exams?

Or do you think that this simply isn't going to work for me (I've already started to accept this as a possibility). I still think I'm capable, my grades are A's and B's in my math/actuarial courses.

I feel like my university and the atmosphere of this kind of field put a LOT of pressure on making us pass as many exams as possible, as fast as possible. I simply couldn't do this. Is there anyone out there who was in this same situation, or who got a late start in this type of field? If so, what did you do during your non-actuarial, "limbo" period of your life?