This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low UG GPA

I graduated uni a year ago with approximately a 2.9 GPA owing to a number of circumstances - mostly, I didn't really know what I wanted to be doing and tried to stick it out in theoretical math and physics.

I have reasonable grades in my intro math classes (A's and B's) through Differential Equations, but after that things dropped to C's (PDE, abstract algebra..). I never took Probability, stats or any other traditional 'actuarial' classes, but I did ace an intro econ class.

I have strong recommendations from my advisor and several other professors who are relieved I am finally pursuing actuarial science (they have been trying to convince me for a few years now, I was stubbornly stupid) , as well as admin-type-work employers.

I'm sitting Exam P in May for the experience, then hopefully Exam P and FM in November to attempt to pass.

Is it worth going back and repeating some courses, taking some 'actuary' courses, even if it would no longer be as a degree-seeking student? Do I have any chance of trying to get any sort of paid/unpaid internship while studying for the exams?

I need to do something to earn money, the default would be admin or childcare related but I am afraid that this will hurt my chances of getting an actuarial job in the future. Thoughts?

If I do pass 2-4 exams, would that be sufficient proof to an employer (along with strong recommendations) that I *can* do it, or will I still have trouble finding work?

I love the looks of diploma in actuarial science programs here in the UK (9 month programs during which you study for and sit the equivalent of ~exams 1-4 in the US), but I can't get into the programs. Are there similar programs in the US - or online - that might help give me a bit more credibility as I look for jobs?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!