Banner Ad 1

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My search for the entry level isn't going well...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My search for the entry level isn't going well...

... thus far.

I have been out of school for two years now, and have passed the first two exams in that time. I graduated with a B.S. in Math with a 3.17 GPA. My counselors at school were next to useless, and I only discovered the actuarial profession in my senior year.

Since then, I have been dazed trying to figure out everything for myself. Apparently, as it exists right now, the industry wants some experience before they'll give you a shot, but I missed the opportunity for an internship in college, and now I am told that I am too old for one now.

So, I am left in something of a pickle and I don't know what to do. I'd want to talk to the firms directly, but everything is done through clunky websites now. If anyone has any good advice, I'd like to hear it.
    ``Give me but one solid place to stand, and I will move the Earth.'' ~ Archimedes

i have similar situation

I am studying in school and will graduate in April. i have passed 4 exams ( passed 2,3,4 in fall 2004). However, i have no actuarial experience at all. Job hunting is really driving me crazy. I wonder if there is still a chance that i can find a entry level job......all i want is an entry level actuarial job to start....

Comment

Originally posted by afriend
      I am studying in school and will graduate in April. i have passed 4 exams ( passed 2,3,4 in fall 2004). However, i have no actuarial experience at all. Job hunting is really driving me crazy. I wonder if there is still a chance that i can find a entry level job......all i want is an entry level actuarial job to start....
      I've heard the actuarial job market in Canada is extremely competitive. Best of luck in finding a job. Are you sitting for C6 in May?

Comment