Banner Ad 1

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thinking of beoming an actuary. Help/advice would be appreciated.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of beoming an actuary. Help/advice would be appreciated.

Hi. I have just finished my second year of college and am interested in becoming an actuary. I am majoring in math, and have completed up through abstract algebra; I was looking at a few sample exam questions for the 1st exam, and a lot of it was stuff that I haven't specifically gone over. I know I should probably take a stats course (I'v enever taken one, the closest to it was discrete math that included a little bit of probability). If anyone could recommend some other types of courses I might take, or any good actuarial math books, I would very much appreciate it.

Also, from what I was reading it seems that the exam has about 30 questions. About how many questions do you need to have correct in order to pass? Also, how many exams does one need to pass to get a job in the field (and are the generally a good amount internship opportunites available after passing the first exam or even before)?

Also, if anyone reading this is/was an actuary, what was major in college, how difficult did you find the actuarial exams, and how do you like your job?

Thanks.

Take a course in Calculus based probability as soon as possible. After you've taken that course you can prepare yourself specifically for Exam P.

You typically need about 60%-65% to pass the exam but it varies.

You can get a job with only one exam, that's what I did. Try to pass Exam P ASAP and then look for an intership. Then you can work on Exam FM (much easier now than it has been in the past) If you have two exams and and intership and can communicate well, you'll have no problem finding a job.