This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help-Career Changer

Hi, I'm a 27 year old graduate student working on a PhD in Molecular Biology. I no longer want to do science and would like to start acturial exams. Although I did well in college calculus, it's been years. Should I retake a college course or review fundamentals. Also, are multivariable calculus and linear algebra needed for the exams? Also, am I too old to switch now?

Thanks in advance.

You probably remember enough calculus to take the exams. Rather than taking courses, I would just learn the material on my own. Then again, I don't learn well in a class setting. Since the deadline's passed for Exam P, I would consider sitting for FM. You're not too old to switch careers, but you should be able to clearly explain to an interviewer why you are interested in actuarial science now. You may have a PhD, but an employer will probably not think of that as any benefit. You won't be any more qualified than someone with a BA and the same number of exams passed. Take a look at past exams available on www.soa.org to get an idea of what you'll be taking.
    Whether you are the lion or the gazelle, when the sun comes up, you better be running.

Comment

dheslin, your Ph.D (or near-Ph.D) is not worthless; I've known of those with Ph.D.'s to obtain actuarial positions, so do not be discouraged. As was already said, though, you DO need to start preparing and taking actuarial exams as soon as possible, and it was a good suggestion to start preparing for Exam FM which will be given in November, which does not contain much calculus at all.

On another forum, there was another poster who is in a similar situation, though he/she does already have two exams passed, but I think the discussion could still be helpful: