This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stumped

Hello everyone i just started this thread to ask for some imformation.
    I'm a grade 11 student (High School) in Canada and i want to go into the actuarial field. I've tried finding information on it and what i must do to become an actuary but it all seems really confusing. Right now all i understand is that you have to pass 9(i think) exams to become a fully certified actuary. But i have to idea as to how you prepare to pass for those exams, and how long it would take. Also i've heard that people have passed the acturial exams even with an unrelated degree from university. So does this mean the actuarial degree is not that important?

Also to get the actuarial degree i can either go to the University of toronto or Waterloo. I live in toronto so it would be more convienent for me to go to toronto, unless waterloo the degree from waterloo is considered better by employers or gives a more in-depth coverage of the actuarial exam topics. So does it?

Thankyou for you time.

Don't think so far ahead. Take the exam process one step at a time. If you want to pass the first one, exam P, study probability. The second one, exam FM, is interest theory. The relevant text books are listed on the SOA website. I think the recommended study time is 100 hours per exam hours so 300 hours for the first exam and 200 hours for the second exam. An actuarial science degree becomes less stressed if you are able to show that you can pass exams.

I don't know what kind of courses are given at either university, but I think Waterloo's co-op program is one of the best.
    Whether you are the lion or the gazelle, when the sun comes up, you better be running.

Comment