re-entering the workforce

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• re-entering the workforce

I have been a stay-at-home mom for the last 4 years. I graduated with a BS in Chemistry and Math in 1997 and did work in a labratory as a chemist and statistician before having children. I am looking to re enter the work force and am very interested in persuing actuary. I have a lot of math background, obviously, but I'm a little (maybe a lot) rusty. I was thinking of auditing an undergraduate course at our local college this summer to reenergize that part of my brain again. I have started reviewing my old text, but it is slow going. Would you suggest I go back to a Calculas class or statistics?

What other prep do you suggest? I did pull a sample test off the internet and attempted to do it, but I was all but totally lost, so I know I need refreshment before attempting the study the real thing.

Originally posted by gbarber
    I have been a stay-at-home mom for the last 4 years. I graduated with a BS in Chemistry and Math in 1997 and did work in a labratory as a chemist and statistician before having children. I am looking to re enter the work force and am very interested in persuing actuary. I have a lot of math background, obviously, but I'm a little (maybe a lot) rusty. I was thinking of auditing an undergraduate course at our local college this summer to reenergize that part of my brain again. I have started reviewing my old text, but it is slow going. Would you suggest I go back to a Calculas class or statistics?

What other prep do you suggest? I did pull a sample test off the internet and attempted to do it, but I was all but totally lost, so I know I need refreshment before attempting the study the real thing.