Necessary Materials?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Necessary Materials?

I am going to take the SOA/CAS Exam 1 in February of 2006, and I'm studying for it now. I have "A First Course in Probability" by Sheldon Ross (5th ed.) and I would like to know what other material I need for the first exam. I am interested in study guides too, but isn't all the material actually contained in the Ross book? I have read the www.beanactuary.com website and the syllabus recommending Ross among other probability books. I plan on working through "Probability for Risk Management" after I work through Ross.

Basically, what I am asking is, if I work hard and understand everything in Ross, will I be prepared for the 1st exam? If not, what else should I buy and study?

One last question, how much time ahead of the exam should I register to sit?

Thank you in advance for your help.
    Last edited by rippalizer; September 22 2005, 09:18 PM.

Originally posted by rippalizer
    I am going to take the SOA/CAS Exam 1 in February of 2006, and I'm studying for it now. I have "A First Course in Probability" by Sheldon Ross (5th ed.) and I would like to know what other material I need for the first exam. I am interested in study guides too, but isn't all the material actually contained in the Ross book? I have read the www.beanactuary.com website and the syllabus recommending Ross among other probability books. I plan on working through "Probability for Risk Management" after I work through Ross.

Basically, what I am asking is, if I work hard and understand everything in Ross, will I be prepared for the 1st exam? If not, what else should I buy and study?

One last question, how much time ahead of the exam should I register to sit?

Thank you in advance for your help.