First attempt at the p exam was a failure..... Any advice would help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First attempt at the p exam was a failure..... Any advice would help

Hey so a little about everything I'm a junior hoping to graduate next may wanting to take and pass the fm and p exams before I graduate. I go to a rather challenging university with a relatively high gpa as an actuarial major. Already passing a probability course and studying from the actex study manual I thought I was well prepared however I wasnt ( I probably studied a total of 120 hours). I failed and now am discouraged. I really want to take it again in march. Do you think this is too soon? Is there any study material that worked for you? Am I being realistic wanting to pass two exams before I get I graduate? Any advice is appreciated because I really feel lost at this point. Thanks for any help you can offer me!

I'm in pretty much the same boat. RPI Junior, Industrial Engineer, just failed Exam P last Thursday, would like to pass the first 2 by graduation. Honestly, the best strategy I've heard (from that expert man Sam Broverman) is to study so much that when you read each question, you think to yourself "been there done that." And it makes sense because you have to know this stuff really really well for the job. I wouldn't get discouraged, I expect to fail several times, these are hard exams. As a guide you could buy a book but I prefer this

http://grove.ufl.edu/~fass/Exam%20P%20Study%20Guide.pdf

Comment

Would taking the exam multiple times effect an employers opinion of me though? Also I want to get experience in the finance world is there any way I can find internships without passing an exam?

Comment

1. 120 hours for P? Not sufficient, even if you've passed a course in probability and have a high GPA as an actuarial major.
        2. As a junior, passing 2 exams is quite feasible ..... provided you put in the hours necessary.