This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble finding a job...

I have been looking for a job in the actuarial field more or less off and on for the past five years. I have passed two exams, but never really felt motivated to take more until I got an actual position that would support my exam-taking. I have been on dozens and dozens of interviews...probably sent resumes to every major actuarial employer (and most mid-size employers), and I never got a single bite. I have no "direct" actuarial experience, although I have been a retirement plan administrator for several years, and have some experience working with DB plans.

Do you think I should just try and pass the third exam (with NO support from my employer, by the way...), and then try to find a job again. But what I fear is the same thing I have been hearing all along...not enough experience. I just think that it's so competitive out there, that even if I have an FSA and no experience, companies will STILL not hire me because I don't have any experience. Even entry level positions (which is more or less what I'm trying to apply for) don't hire me because I don't have any experience.

Or, do you think that I should just give up the ghost, and realize that I am not the actuarial-type? I know I'm very smart, and I know I can succeed, but without internships since high school, I'm doomed.

Originally posted by yyosh
    I have been looking for a job in the actuarial field [...]. I have been on dozens and dozens of interviews...probably sent resumes to every major actuarial employer (and most mid-size employers), and I never got a single bite. [snip]
    Well, I am not actuary, but as an old person (54) with some experience would say that you have a big problem with interviews. Either interviewing techniques, or wrong answers, or wrong attitude, or wrong behavior.