This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Good" GPA; High School Info?

I am in the process of putting together my resume for an entry-level actuarial position with no exams passed and no actuarial science degree (I studied math & physics). I graduated in May 2004 and have been working overseas in admin for a year and a half while studying for exams and am sitting FM in May and P in August (MAYBE may if I don't get a job between now and then!). Now I'm back in America and looking for my first 'real' job.

The general consensus is to include your GPA if it is "good" - what is a "good" GPA? 3.0+? 3.5+?

Also, is it worth including high school accomplishments - ie, salutatorian, National Merit Scholar, etc - given that I have already graduated from uni?

Is it important to show continuous employment - ie, do I need to put that I worked as a nanny for the summer after graduation, or should I just leave a gap in dates between graduation and my first office job?

Thanks!

If you have more relevant stuff you can put on your resumé, I wouldn't put it on your resumé. Same with jobs. I'd put most recent and most relevant. If there's anything you want to explain, that goes on your cover letter.
    Whether you are the lion or the gazelle, when the sun comes up, you better be running.

Comment

If you don't put your GPA on, they know you're hiding something. They're going to ask you so you might as well put it on. If your major GPA is higher, you should also include that.
      Whether you are the lion or the gazelle, when the sun comes up, you better be running.

Comment

Originally posted by Ken
        If you don't put your GPA on, they know you're hiding something. They're going to ask you so you might as well put it on. If your major GPA is higher, you should also include that.