This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serious Problem?

Hey everyone, I graduated in August with a degree in econonomics and have two exams passed. I took a few months off to travel and have been applying to entry level actuarial jobs since. I had a phone interview with Imerica and didn't get the job, and also should be hearing back from ING (I should call them huh).

It's bothering me that I haven't heard from anybody else recently and feel that there is something wrong with my resume. Does the fact that I graduated in August hurt my chances of getting an interview greatly?

Also, a recruiter from DW Simpson told me it normally takes entry levels 2 months to a year to find a job. What have your experiences been with the matter? I would really appreciate some help.

If you are going through HR, you're going about this the wrong way. If you can get interviews, your resumé isn't holding you back.
    Whether you are the lion or the gazelle, when the sun comes up, you better be running.

Comment

I'm not an expert, just a student who currently works as a deli slicer to pay the bills, but from what I've seen, and my girlfriend's experience (she isn't an actuary, but works in the corporate world), you need to be constantly, CONSTANTLY, looking for work, sending out resumes -to the right people-, and following up.

If you want to be an actuary, find companies in your travel area who hire actuaries (insurance companies, consulting companies), find out who their point of contacts are (NOT HR if you can avoid it), and when you send out a resume, follow up within a reasonable timeframe. After your interview, IMMEDIATELY when you get home, write thank you letters to everyone you interviewed with.

Not guaranteed to get you a job, but the longest my girlfriend has gone without work in the last 5 years, through two layoffs and two office closings is 3 months.

Comment

http://www.beanactuary.org/find/atp.cfm